January 28, 2021

The Niche

Trusted stem cell blog & resources

Dozen Finalists for Stem Cell Person of the Year 2013

Stem-Cell-Symbol, Stem Cell Person of The Year.The voting is over and we have our top 12 finalists for the 2013 Stem Cell Person of the Year Award. You can see the final votes results below. It’s definitely an intriguing list that reflects the range of important areas in the field today.

I can say without any hesitation that all 12 of them have had major impacts on the stem cell field and I believe are likely to continue doing so. Keep in mind that the voting up until now was simply to chose the top 12 finalists. Any of the 12, regardless of vote total in the previous stage, could be picked to receive the Award.

I’m going to have a challenge picking just one from these finalists. I plan to announce the Person of the Year Award recipient within a week or so. Stay tuned for more details. Meantime, here are the finalists.

Robert Lanza, Scientific Leader of Advanced Cell Technology with its ongoing FDA-approved embryonic stem cell-based clinical trials for macular degeneration.

Chris Centeno, a physician provider of stem cell treatments. A leading proponent of changes in the regulation of adult stem cell therapies.Stem Cell Person of the Year 2013 Finalists

Ted Harada, a patient advocate for ALS and the stem cell field, who is advocating for changes in stem cell clinical trials and compassionate use.

Don C. Reed, a long time patient advocate instrumental in the passage of Prop 71, the creation of CIRM, and continuing success of the stem cell field.

Pope Francis, the leader of the global Catholic Church and an advocate for adult stem cell therapies.

Jeff Sheehy, an active Member of the CIRM Governing Board and an HIV/AIDS and stem cell patient advocate.

Leigh Turner, a Professor at UMN and Bioethicist active in promoting evidence-based medicine and appropriate regulation of stem cell commercial ventures to protect patients.

Elena Cattaneo, a leading stem cell researcher in Italy who stood up against the Stamina Foundation pushing for use of their nebulous stem cell product.

Sabrina Cohen, an educator and inspirational, long-time leading patient advocate for stem cells and spinal cord injury research.

Patricia Olson, a stem cell scientist who has been a major driving force in CIRM’s success and the agency’s continuing positive evolution over the years.

Masayo Takahashi, the stem cell scientist leading the team conducting the first ever in human study of an iPS cell-based therapy, which happens to also be for macular degeneration.

Shoukhrat Mitalipov, the scientist whose team performed the first ever successful human SCNT (therapeutic cloning) to produce patient-specific human ES cells and investigating oocyte-based strategies for treating mitochondrial disorders.

Who do you think should be Person of the Year for 2013?

%d bloggers like this: