Nominations open for Stem Cell Person of the Year 2016 Award

Nominations are open starting today for the Stem Cell Person of the Year Award for 2016. Please email me your nominations: knoepflerATucdavisDOTedu.stem-cell-person-of-the-year-award

This is a unique award as it is given to an individual who has taken risks to help others within the stem cell field and they based their actions on outside-the-box thinking.

Another unusual aspect is that anyone is eligible for the prize whether you are a scientist, physician, patient, writer, student, etc. There are also no geographic restrictions.

The winner receives recognition as a positive leader in this arena and a $2,000 cash prize that I award myself out of pocket.

Nominations will close one month from today on October 15th.

The nominations I receive will then be subject to an Internet vote and the top 50% will be the finalists, from which I will choose the winner. While I alone choose the winner, I often get feedback from leaders around the globe in the stem cell and regenerative medicine field.

Previous winners include these stellar stem cell leaders:

Who will win the Stem Cell Person of the Year Award for 2016? Send me your nominations.

7 thoughts on “Nominations open for Stem Cell Person of the Year 2016 Award”

  1. Probably not widely known outside if the field of xenogenic organ transplantation and cloning, but I nominate Prof. Hiroshi Nagashima, Meiji University, Tokyo, another true translational scientist (with a wicked sense of humor!)

  2. Hi, there are many outstanding candidates indeed.

    This year the term perhaps best goes for Nissim Benvenisty (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) for development of Haploid human ES — a major acheivment and contributions for many years to come.



Comments are closed.